God of Thunder Retrospective: Introduction

Good evening, or day, or whenever it is you are reading this. Do you have a moment to talk about the Lord? No not that one, with the Cornerstone churches and The Watchtower and a decisive grip on American culture whether people follow Him or not. No, I’m talking about the Lord of Lightning, the Sultan of Swing. The God of Thunder. I’m talking of course, about Thor.

Marvel’s Thor to be specific.

Recently I got tipped of that the Amazon Kindle store was having a massive sale on Marvel collections. It has been a long established goal of mine to try and own every Thor comic in existence. This weekend I got closer to that goal, and I now possess every comic with “Thor” in the title printed in the past decade.

I will go on the record of saying that at first, I never really liked Marvel’s Thor. I didn’t really get acquainted with the Norse gods until I first read Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman and American Gods. Thor to me was the traditional Norse version- rather a redhaired, red bearded drunken lout. Marvel’s Thor, with his golden locks and limitless nobility- he never really interested me.

Several years after reading Neil Gaiman’s work, I became a Heathen. I began learning about and worshiping the Aesir,Vanir, and other assorted beings. I took Odin as my personal patron. Still no real love for Thor. That came much later on. It took losing my job, becoming more aware of the plight of the working poor, and the first Thor movie for me to truly love Thor.

I had a really good job in 2012, and then all of a sudden I did not. It made life difficult. I lost an apartment, a car, and almost the good will of everyone in my family and friend group. One of the only things that got me through was my spirituality, of which Thor had suddenly become a huge part of.  Because you see, Thor? Thor is the god of the working man. Thor cared about the normal men and women of Midgard. Those who labored in the fields and the factories. On the boats and the storehouses. That was where I worked now. All of a sudden I understood what it was he stood for.

Then I thought back to the 2011 “Thor” film and realized how truly Thor-like Marvel’s version of the god was. Here was a boisterous soul, full of murder, mirth, along with the desire to defend what he loved against the forces of evil and chaos. I began buying Thor comics shortly after that. I haven’t stopped since. Despite the many differences between Marvel and Mythological Thor, I don’t make much difference between the two. Whether I’m reading The Poetic Edda or a random issue of Thor, I consider both devotional material. The Thor comics where inspired by the myths, the comics inspired Neil Gaiman, who then wrote the materials that originally inspired me. Much like the idea of Ragnarok itself, it is a cycle.

Over the next few blog posts I am going to offer you a retrospective review of the last decade of Thor comics. Every major series ( not including guest appearances or Avengers stuff), the numerous EVENT books that seem to have coalesced around him, and maybe even the movies. You’ll also get a hefty amount of my bias as a Heathen and practicing magician.

I hope anyone reading this enjoys.

Leave a Reply

